Two photosynthesis conferences in India in 2017

1. At Hyderabad, Telangana, India

Here, an international conference was held from October 30—November 4, 2017; it was "The 8th International Conference on "Photosynthesis and Hydrogen Energy Research for Sustainability" and held at the University of Hyderabad, organized by S. Rajagopal; it honored: A.S. Raghavendra (Hyderabad University); William Cramer (Purdue University); and Govindjee (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champain).

The abstract book and the program is the next item here, which was downloaded from: https://prs.science/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Photosynthesis-Research-for-Sustainability-2017.pdf

2. At Udaipur, Rajasthan, India

The second conference,a"National Symposium on Photosynthesis", was held on December 8 and 9, 2017, at Mohanlal Sukhadia University (MLSU), Udaipur, India. It honored Govindjee (organizing secretary: Vineet Soni). A brief News Report on this conference is in press in "The Journal of Plant Science Research" (editor: C.P. Malik; e-mail: cpm_malik@yahoo.com) . Since its abstract book and the program is not available at any web site, one of the organizers requested that it be placed on this web site "From Around the World". Further, since the booklet does not have page numbers, order of presentation must be made available to the readers who want it; it is described below.

An amateur scanned file of the Abstract book is available (and placed) as the next item on this web page, and its contents are as follows.

- **0.** The cover page: Below the title, there is a simple diagram of overall photosynthesis.
- **1. List of names of major speakers:** *Keynote*: Govindjee (Urbana, IL, USA); *Plenary*: Ashwani Kumar (Jaipur, India); Arvind K. Purohit (Bikaner, India); Ashwani Pareek (New Delhi, India) and Sneh L. Singla- Pareek (New Delhi); List of members of the organizing committee, of the advisory committee, and of the local organizing committee.
- **2.** The poster of the conference : It has photographs of the major speakers.
- **3. Welcome message(s):** From Vineet Soni (messages from the Vice Chancellor J.P.Sharma; from the Dean B.L. Ahuja, and from Kanika Sharma, the Head of Botany Department are included later; see # 8 below).
- **4. A text on Govindjee**: *Mister Photosynthesis* by Vineet Soni; it includes at the bottom 2 photographs; one of them has a group picture with Reto J. Strasser of Switzerland.
- **5. Abstract of Govindjee's talk:** The title is: "Photosynthesis Research: My Personal Story"

- 6. The program (the schedule) of the conference: It includes the names of the speakers as well as those of the *Rapporteurs* and *Chairpersons*, spread over 3 pages. [On the first day, there was a great cultural event (Coordinator: Preetpal Kaur) where the students did beautiful skits and dances. In addition, there was a great unique event in the corridor—called "*Rangoli*" where students made exciting and beautiful models of photosynthesis with variously colored special powders: there were models of the thylakoid membrane; of the Z-Scheme; of the Calvin-Benson cycle, and much more. On the last day, there was a valedictory session and distribution of certificates to the winners of "*Rangoli*"; and of the "posters". [Photographs are not included here, but will be available, as the last item, at: http://www.life.illinois.edu/govindjee/g/Photo/photomenu.html.]
- **7. A brief description of:** (i) Udaipur, the City of Lakes; (ii) Mohanlal Sukhadia University (MLSU); (iii) of the Department of Botany of MLSU, and (iv) Vineet Soni's Plant Bioenergetics and Biotechnology Lab.
- 8. Messages: They are from the Vice Chancellor J.P.Sharma; from the Dean B.L. Ahuja, and from Kanika Sharma, the Head of the Botany Department, all of MLSU. These are followed by messages received on Govindjee's 85th birthday (that had just passed: October 24, 2017, before the Udaipur conference). These are from (in the order of appearance): Rudolf (Rudy) Marcus (USA); Satish C. Maheshwari (India); Lars Olof Bjorn (Sweden); Arthur M. Nonomura (USA); Thomas (Tom) D. Sharkey (USA); C.R. Malik (India); Ashwani Kumar (India); A.K. Purohit (India); Ashwani Pareek (India); Subhanu Saxena (UK); Reto J. Strasser (Switzeland); John R. Evans (Australia); Rita Khanna (USA); Morten H. Christiansen (USA); Micheal (Mike) Seibert (USA); Robert (Bob) E. Blankenship (USA); and George C. Papageorgiou (Greece).
- 9. Abstracts: They are first by the plenary speakers: Ashwani Kumar (Jaipur, India); Arvind K. Purohit (Bikaner, India); Ashwani Pareek (New Delhi, India) and Sneh L. Singla- Pareek (New Delhi). These are followed by abstracts by a large number of participants. Almost all of the abstracts for posters were from graduate students in Udaipur, with their professors. In addition to some research posters, many were sort of "reviews" (or what is called "term papers" in USA), i.e., they served learning and educational purposes. Almost all students of Vineet Soni participated through their posters. See footnote 1, as item #11 for a complete list of names, who presented posters.
- **10. The back cover** (a fun photo): Vineet Soni and his students did a fantastic job in remembering and recognizing several top pioneers, related to Photosynthesis, and letting Govindjee (2nd from left in the bottom row) and Reto Strasser (2nd from left in the 3rd row from the top) be there just to enjoy themselves marveling the pioneers: 1st row (left to right): Johannes Deisenhofer (1988 Nobel Prize in Chemistry); Hartmut Michel (1988 Nobel Prize in Chemistry); and George Porter

(1967 Nobel Prize in Chemistry) . 2nd row (left to right): Rudolph Marcus (1992 Nobel Prize in Chemistry; see his letter on Govindjee's birthday (#8 (above)); John Walker (1997 Nobel Prize in Chemistry); and Sir Jagdish Chandra Bose (a major discoverer in Physics and Biology; one of the fathers of Biophysics). 3rd row (left to right): Andrew A. Benson (known for Calvin-Benson-Bassham cycle); and Reto J. Strasser. 4th row (left to right): Peter Mitchell (1978 Nobel Prize in Chemistry); James A. Bassham (known for Calvin-Benson-Bassham cycle); and Paul D. Boyer (1997 Nobel Prize in Chemistry); 5th row (left to right): Readers are "challenged" to guess his identity; Govindjee; and Melvin Calvin (1961 Nobel Prize in Chemistry)

11. Footnote #1: Participants from Udaipur and neighboring areas: ----N. C.Aery, Shikha Agarwal, Jaya Arora (2 posters), Tansukh Barupal, Meena Bhanu-Raj, Vijay Dan Charan, Deepali Chittora, Pragya Choudhury, Pushkar Lal Dangi, Alankrita Dashora, Meenkshi Dhoot, Rupal Dhoot, Aditi Dwivedi, Divyani Gandhi, Tripti Gour, Deepa Hada, Sonal Hada, Harish (missing second name), Anjana Intodia, Devendra Jain, Abhishek Joshi, Bhanupriya Kanthaliya, Vidhya Kapasya, C.S.Kapoor, Peetpal Kaur (2 posters) Poonam Khandelwal, Neetu Kumari, Aparna Kumawat, Geetanjali Kumawat, Bhavika Kunwar, Suresh Chandra Mali, C.P. Malik (Jaipur) Lalita Panchal, Sunita Parihar (2 posters), Shani Raj, Kavita Rathore, M.S.Rathore, Manisha Rathore (2 posters), Praveena Rathore, Vishambhar Sangela, Kannan Saxena, Pallavi Saxena, Kunal Seth, Kanika Sharma (5 posters), Zulfiya Sheikh (2 posters) Mittholliya Shivangi, Anamika Singhvi (Banswara) Soni, Vineet (7 posters), Reto J. Strasser (Geneva), Deepti Suhalka, Gayatri Swarnakar, Rohini Trivedi and Garima Yadav.In addition, there were poster presentations from Jawaharlal Nehru University (New Delhi); authors were: Brijesh K. Gupta, Rohit Joshi, Ashwani Pareek (also a major speaker), Sneh Lata Singla-Pareek (also a major speaker), Ashish Subba, Surabhi Tomar and Silas (Graham) Wungrampha.